Our first call to the fertility clinic went something like this:

Me: “Hi! I’m calling to check the status of a referral. My name is ____________.”

Them: “Nope. We don’t have anything.”

Me: “It should be there. We saw our GP over 3 weeks ago.”

Them: “Nope.”

Me: “Can you check again? Our doctor’s name is _____________.”

Them: “I’ll check the pile on our fax machine.”

Me: “Great!”

Them: “Oh, we have to send it back to your doctor because we can’t process the form. I can’t read your husband’s name.”

Me: “I don’t have a husband.”

Them: “Your boyfriend.”

Me: “I don’t have a boyfriend.”

Them: “Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww, that is really too bad.”

Me: “I have a partner.”

Them: “What is her name?”

Me: “Norse.” (I’m too shocked to speak to the receptionist about pronouns or gender)

Them: “NORSE? What a funny name. Honestly, this writing is terrible.”

Me: “That is my writing.”

Them: “We’re booking into next year. You’ll get a letter in the mail.” *hangs up phone*

Leave a Reply

